Scenic Ragusa Ibla

Ragusa is the capital of the province of Ragusa, it is built on a wide limestone hill between two deep valleys, Cava San Leonardo and Cava Santa Domenica. Together with seven other cities in the Val di Noto, it is listed among the UNESCO World Heritage Sites.
The narrow winding streets of Ragusa Ibla are perfect for a leisure walk where you can experience a timeless feel of history, and be tempted by a fantastic array of culinary delights, famous pastry shops, restaurants offering traditional dishes, savory snacks like "arancini and ricotta cannoli" will not forget the wonderful experience that is Ragusa Ibla.

Ragusa Ibla hosts a wide array of Baroque architecture, including several stunning palaces and churches.
The Cathedral of San Giorgio was built starting in 1738 by architect Rosario Gagliardi, in substitution of the temple destroyed by the 1693 earthquake, and of which only a Catalan-Gothyic style portal can still be seen. The façade is characterized by a flight of 250 steps and by massive ornate columns, as well as by statues of saints and decorated portals. The interior has a Latin cross plan, with a nave and two aisles ending in half-circular apses. It is topped by a large Neoclassical dome built in 1820.

On a narrow winding street that connects Ragusa Ibla (the new name of R. Inferiore, taken by a legendary Greek town maybe risen here) with Ragusa Superiore is the church of Santa Maria delle Scale ("Saint Mary of the Steps", built between the fifteenth and the sixteenth centuries). This church is particularly interesting: badly damaged in the earthquake of 1693, half of this church was rebuilt in Baroque style, while the surviving half was kept in the original Gothic (including the three Catalan-style portals in the right aisle). The last chapel of the latter has a Renaissance portal. The chapels have canvases from some Sicilian painters of the 18th century.

The Church of the Souls of the Purgatory has a Baroque portal. The church of Santa Maria dell'Itria, built by the Knights of Malta in the seventeenth century, has a campanile with ceramics from Caltagirone and a canvas attributed to Mattia Preti.

The church of San Giorgio, designed by Rosario Gagliardi and built in 1739–1775, has a façade with tiers of juxtaposed columns. The Treasury contains silver items of value. Similar though smaller is the nearby church of St. Joseph, with an elliptic interior housing a seventeenth-century statue of the dedicatee.

The church of Sant'Antonino is an example of Norman architecture, characterized by a Gothic portal, while the Church of Immacolata boasts a fine fourteenth-century portal.

San Giorgio Vecchio has a re-entrant façade with a notable Gothic-Catalan portal, with a high relief on the lunetta portraying St. George Killing the Dragon, and Aragonese eagles.

The Hyblean Garden offers a panorama on the three churches of the Cappuccini Vecchi, St. James (fourteenth century) and San Domenico.

The Zacco Palace is a Baroque building, its Corinthian columns support balconies of wrought iron work, caryatids and grotesques.

Panorama of Ragusa
Cathedral of San Giorgio in Ragusa Ibla.
Interior of the Cathedral of San Giorgio.
Cathedral of San Giorgio in Ragusa Ibla.
The Church of the Souls of the Purgatory, one of the many Baroque edifices
The decorative Baroque façade of S.Giuseppe church in Ragusa Ibla.
The 18th century interior of the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist.
Ragusa Ibla by night
Ragusa Ibla panoramic view